Weeds Make a Nice Addition to Salad

I have found that wildcrafted weeds make a nice addition to salads.

When I was growing up on the farm my mom and I would collect dandelion leaves to add to salad. I must give Mom credit, since she is the person who influenced me in this direction.

Dandelion leaves make a nice addition to salad

Now, living in the city, I still continue the tradition. Please bear in mind, we don’t use pesticides, herbicides, or chemical fertilizers in our yard or garden. So, if you use products like “Weed ‘n Feed” on your lawn, bear in mind that any surviving weeds will be toxic.

Each spring when the leaves are small and tender, I carefully collect from the backyard small, clean leaves of dandelion. I avoid plants that grow along-side the streets, as they would be contaminated with traffic fumes. Wildcrafted dandelion leaves added to my favorite green salad are a wonderful source of anti-oxidant, disease-preventing, and health-promoting nutrients.[1]

Dandelion is much more than a weed; it is an excellent herbal remedy for many health issues.[2] Please do your own research, as I’m no expert.

Besides a plentiful supply of Dandelions in my yard, I have a prolific source of Plantain, as well. Their tender leaves are just right for adding to salad. This morning I picked enough to add to a green salad. I started with a base of what I had in my fridge: leaf lettuce, radishes, cucumber, green pepper, onion, then added the freshly picked plantain leaves and dandelion leaves. I like to cut the lettuce and dandelion leaves in to bite-size. All base ingredients are organically sourced.

Wildcrafted plantain leaves make a healthy addition to salad

After I mix all the ingredients together in a mixing bowl, I re-locate the salad to meal-size portions in storage containers and keep them in the fridge. I find that the fresh vegetables keep well when washed and prepared for eating. Salad ingredients keep fresh and crisp in the fridge for a few days if they are prepared with love. It is so convenient to pull out a salad for lunch at work. Looking at the image below, I can see a plantain leaf and a dandelion leaf sitting on top.

Dandelion and Plantain leaves make a healthy addition to salad

I add my favorite dressing when I eat. Other ingredients I might like to add could be: chia seeds, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, cranberries, raisins, slivered almonds, etc. I try to have a variety of dried seeds and fruit on hand, to keep my meals fun and interesting.

Healthy organic salad with wildcrafted weeds

Another “weed” that my mom liked to collect was wild horse-radish. She added it to her home-made beet pickles. Once in awhile I think I’d like to try that sometime. I’ll let you know when that happens. I’d be curious to hear what adventures you might have when it comes to gardening and wild-crafting.

[1] http://www.nutrition-and-you.com/dandelion-herb.html
[2] http://www.joyhypnotherapy.com/2013/04/dandelions-are-not-just-weeds/

Feel free to ignore any ads below. These are spam from WordPress.

3 thoughts on “Weeds Make a Nice Addition to Salad

  1. Hi Esther: I love adding arugula to salads. I certainly could pick the dandelion leaves as well, as we always have a lot of them on hand and we don’t use pesticides. Is the plantain you mention the same plant as the plantains I eat in the Caribbean (i.e. a form of banana?) One addition I’d like to suggest you add to your salads is organic cocoa nibs. You can buy them at most health food stores and they are delicious! They add texture as they are crunchy, and they add a naturally chocolate flavour that sparks up any salad. I love the ones from Peru, as they have fruity notes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Doreen, Thanks for the comment. Yes, arugula is wonderful in salads and we eat it often. I don’t know if plantain is related to the banana plant. It’s a small but prolific plant growing in our yard commonly known as a weed around here. Knowing that it is healthy to eat is the reason I allow it to continue to grow in my yard. It’s really nice when the leaves are young. I didn’t think about putting cocoa nibs in salad, but thanks for the “heads up”…I actually have some in my cupboard, so I’ll be sure to try it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

