Peanut Butter Cups

No matter how strict a diet I’m on, I still allow myself the occasional treat, whether a sweet, or whatever. But I also realize how important it is that the treats be organic, too, just like all my other food selections. I’ve worked diligently on my health since 2005 to get to where I am. From now on, I’ll guard my health by eating only organic. To allow myself an occasional treat is only reasonable, and I promised myself it will always be organic.

On the long road to restoring my gut health, I have learned a lot about our “conventional” food industry and what exactly it does to hurt a body. For example, all sugar, unless specifically labeled as “organic” is genetically modified, and will destroy your gut health. Sugar beets and other foods now contain the Bt-toxin. Years ago, the Bt-toxin could be washed off. But, thanks to genetic modification, it is now bred directly into the plant and will do to your gut what it does to bug guts: split their guts open and they die. Hard to believe that this toxic chemical is allowed in our food these days. Yet, the sad truth is, it is permitted, as long as we keep buying “conventional” produce. As a result, I’m allowing my food dollars to speak clearly about this important issue by buying organic food.

Before I knew better I used to like “conventional” peanut butter cups. After getting ill, I have gone without. Until now. I have now perfected my home-made peanut butter cups and here is the recipe for anyone who wishes to make this delicious and actually nutritious chocolate treat.

delicious peanut butter cups

Peanut Butter Cups

Ingredients

Chocolate
1/2 cup cocoa butter* (shredded)
1/2 cup virgin coconut oil
1/2 cup (raw) cocoa powder
1 tablespoon honey (or more for desired sweetness)
1/4 teaspoon vanilla (optional)

Filling
1 cup Peanut butter (chunky or creamy, as preferred)
Drop of vanilla (optional)

Directions

Line a regular 12-muffin pan with parchment muffin cups.
Melt ½ cup shredded cocoa butter, ½ cup coconut oil, ½ cup cocoa powder and 1 tablespoon of honey in a double-boiler (set a glass Pyrex measuring cup in a pot of simmering water on the stove, if you don’t have a double-boiler).
Pour 1 tablespoon of melted chocolate into each muffin cup for chocolate base.
Cool pan in fridge for 15 minutes or until hard.
Leave remainder of melted chocolate to simmer gently on stove.
Mix peanut butter so that oil is well blended.
Remove cooled chocolate muffin pan from fridge and set on icepack to keep chocolate base from melting while working with peanut butter and hot chocolate mixture.
Scoop ½ teaspoon into oiled palms (using coconut oil), form into a ball, then flatten into cooled chocolate bases.
Tip: make into “sandwiches” by flattening peanut butter right to edges of parchment or else leave room to surround peanut butter with chocolate edges, just like a real chocolate.
Pour remainder of chocolate mixture into parchment cups, making sure that all peanut butter is covered with chocolate.
Sprinkle lightly with sea salt.
Let cool in fridge.
Wrap individually for a quick snack.
Eat within 1 week.
Yield: 12 snacks.

* For best results, always use organic ingredients to avoid toxins and chemicals used by conventional farming methods.

organic produce has five-digit number starting with 9
Tip: A five-digit number beginning with a “9” in their product code means it is organic.

A five-digit number beginning with an “8” means it’s genetically-modified and contains harmful Bt-toxins.

Save

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Cups

Leave a Reply

